Candidates sought for Health District board

vote buttons

The Health District of Northern Larimer County has scheduled an election for its board of directors Tuesday, May 8, 2018. Anyone interested in running can file to become a candidate now.

Candidate Self-Nomination and Acceptance Forms can be picked up Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., at the Health District, 120 Bristlecone Drive, Fort Collins. The form also can be downloaded at www. Forms must be returned to the Health District by 5 p.m., Friday, March 2. Anyone wishing to run as a write-in candidate must submit a Write-in Candidate Affidavit of Intent (also available at the Health District or online) by 5 p.m., Monday, March 5.

The Secretary of State’s office recommends that either form be submitted no later than 3 p.m. on the due date to allow time for the designated election official to check for errors. That would enable candidates to correct any errors and file an amended form in time to meet the 5 p.m. deadline.

The Health District is a special district that provides residents of northern Larimer County with dental, mental health, preventive health, and advance care planning services, in addition to connecting people to more affordable health insurance and prescription options. It is governed by a five-person board of directors whose members are elected at-large from the community.

Candidates in this election will vie for three seats on the Health District board. Each position has a four-year term.

A candidate must be an eligible elector in the district. An eligible elector is a U.S. citizen aged 18 years or older who is registered to vote in Colorado and a resident of the district. Non-residents of the district also may be eligible electors if they or their spouse own property within the district. The district encompasses the northern two-thirds of Larimer County and includes the cities of Fort Collins, Timnath, Wellington, Laporte, Livermore and Red Feather Lakes.

Voting in the May 8 election will take place at two polling places (Health District offices, 120 Bristlecone Drive, and Spirit of Joy Lutheran Church, 4501 S. Lemay, Ave.) or by absentee ballot. Absentee ballot is the only way to vote by mail in this election. To request an absentee ballot, you must submit an Application for Absentee Ballot form, which can be downloaded here. Anyone who has voted in a previous Health District election and asked to be on the permanent absentee voter list will automatically receive an absentee ballot in the mail.

For more information on the Health District board of directors election, contact Chris Sheafor, designated election official, at 224-5209. More election information is available at