Spanish Vietnamese

Four elected to Health District Board

Molly Gutilla, Joseph Prows, Julie Kunce Field, Ann Yanagi

Voters have returned two incumbents and elected two new members to the Health District of Northern Larimer County Board of Directors.

Incumbents Molly Gutilla and Joseph W. Prows were elected to three-year terms, as was newcomer Julie Kunce Field. Gutilla is an assistant professor of public health at Colorado State University. Prows is a physician. Field is an attorney, mediator and retired district court judge.

Retired physician Ann K. Yanagi won a seat with a one-year term. Yanagi previously served on the Health District Board from 1998 to 2002.

All are residents of Fort Collins.

A total of 1,919 ballots were cast. Preliminary results are:

Three-year term                    

Molly Gutilla:  1,027
Joseph W. Prows:  1,019
Julie Kunce Field:  989
Johanna Ulloa Girón:  806
Brian Ferrans:  797
Nicole “Coco” Peterson:  301
One-year term                  

Ann K. Yanagi:  1,225
Erin Hottenstein:  599

The new and returning members will be sworn in at the May 24 regular board meeting.

The Health District is governed by a five-member board of directors. Members serve staggered terms and are elected at-large from the community. Elections are held every two years, although another board election will be held in 2023 as the State of Colorado completes a transition to a new odd-year schedule for special district elections. Beginning next year, terms for newly elected board members also will revert to four years.

The Health District is a special district that provides residents of northern Larimer County with dental, mental health, preventive health, and advance-care planning services, in addition to connecting people to more affordable health insurance and prescription options.