Eight running for Health District board

election buttons that say 'vote'

Eight people are running for two seats on the board of directors for the Health District of Northern Larimer County. Each position has a three-year term.

The election is May 5.

Running are Christy Bush, 47, business strategy manager for a customer design-build firm and former public health field worker; Johanna Ulloa Girón, 40, community services manager at Poudre River Public Library District and adjunct faculty, Colorado State University; Erin Hottenstein, 46, communications corporate trainer and coach; Celeste Holder Kling, 62, attorney;  H. Faraz Naqvi, 54; physician and businessperson; Lisa Michelle Poppaw, 51, executive director, Crossroads Safehouse; Daniel L. Sapienza, 39, law clerk; and Carol Wittmer, 62, retired medical practice administrator. All are residents of Fort Collins. Kling and Naqvi are incumbents.

View the candidate profiles

The Health District is governed by a five-person board of directors elected at large by eligible electors in the district. District boundaries encompass the northern two-thirds of Larimer County and include Fort Collins, Timnath, Laporte, Livermore, Red Feather Lakes, and Wellington.

To be eligible to vote in the election, a person must be a U.S. citizen aged 18 years or older who is registered to vote in Colorado and is also a resident of the district. Non-district residents may vote if they or their spouse own property within the Health District.

Voting on May 5 will take place at two polling locations in Fort Collins: the Health District main office, 120 Bristlecone Drive, and Spirit of Joy Lutheran Church, 4501 S. Lemay Ave. (corner of Lemay and Harmony).

People also may vote by mail. The only way to vote by mail in this election is by using an absentee ballot, which people may request even if they will be in town during the election. Ballots will be sent automatically to people who have voted in previous Health District board elections and requested to be on a permanent absentee ballot list. All other eligible voters wishing to vote in this election must request an absentee ballot. The application for absentee ballot can be downloaded at healthdistrict.org/2020-board-election. It also will be printed in the issue of the Compass newsletter mailed to Health District households in early April.

Applications for an absentee ballot must be signed and returned to the Health District by Tuesday, April 28 in order to receive the ballot by mail. If a person wishes to pick up the ballot in person, they can return the application by 5 p.m., Friday, May 1. Applications can be returned to Chris Sheafor by mail to 120 Bristlecone Dr., Fort Collins, CO 80524; by fax at (970) 221-7165; or by email (as a scanned attachment) at csheafor@healthdistrict.org. Ballots must be received at the Health District by 7 p.m. on the day of the election in order to be counted.

The Health District is a special district that provides residents of northern Larimer County with dental, mental health, preventive health, and advance care planning services, in addition to connecting people to more affordable health insurance and prescription options.

More information on the Health District board of directors election is available at healthdistrict.org/2020-board-election or by calling 970-224-5209

The League of Women Voters of Larimer County also has candidate profiles at Vote411.org.

REVISED 4-1-2020 to reflect the fact that candidate Chrissy Chard withdrew from the race, although her name will still appear on the ballot.