GTranslate

Classes, trainings, and talks

Learning Series  |  Book Club for Mortals

 

Advance Care Planning Learning Series

The Health District’s Advance Care Planning Coordinator Mindy Rickard facilitates. Classes are located at the Fort Collins Senior Center. Cost is free but registration is required. Space is limited. Register by calling 970-221-6644.

Being Mortal Film Screening & Discussion
Wed., Jan. 26, 10–11:30 a.m.
The stories in Being Mortal show us the value of shared decision-making in medicine at the end of life, and illustrate the importance of thinking and planning ahead as we reflect on what matters most to us.

Death Cafe
Wed., Feb. 9, 1-2 p.m.
For people who are curious about life: Death connects all of us and the Death Cafe is a good place to have a conversation in a comfortable space. This is not a grief or bereavement group, just a thoughtful and respectful conversation.

Why do we have Funerals?
Tues., Feb. 22, 10-11:30 a.m.
Discuss topics like what a “good” funeral might be like. How can funerals be meaningful and personal? What are some of the most unusual funeral practices? Why is it important to plan your funeral ahead of time?

When Nobody Wants your Stuff ... What do they Want?
Tues., March 22, 10-11:30 a.m.
How to leave a written legacy, writing and sharing thoughts of the past, present and future for generations to come.

Best Gift You Can Give ... Advance Care Planning!
Wed., April 6, 10-11:30 a.m.
Learn how to have good conversations about your wishes for end-of-life care and how to complete your documents. Important for everyone over the age of 18.

 

Book Club for Mortals

ACP’s Rickard also hosts a monthly Book Club for Mortals through the Poudre River Public Library to discuss end-of-life themes. Meetings are virtual. To register, email mrickard@healthdistrict.org. For more information on upcoming books, go to poudrelibraries.org/events.

Life in 20 Lessons, What a Funeral Guy Discovered About Life, from Death
by Chris Meyer
Wed., January 19, 3-4:30 p.m.

The Year of Magical Thinking
by Joan Didion
Wed., February 16, 3-4:30 p.m.

Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers
by Mary Roach
Wed., March 16, 3-4:30 p.m.

Death's Acre
by Dr. Bill Bass and Jon Jefferson
Wed., April 20, 3-4:30 p.m.

The Bright Hour
by Nina Riggs
Wed., May 18, 3-4:30 p.m.

Everything Happens for a Reason: And Other Lies I've Loved
by Kate Bowler
Wed., June 15, 3-4:30 p.m.

Stupid Things I Won't Do When I Get Old
by Steven Petrow
Wed., July 20, 3-4:30 p.m.

The Beauty of What Remains
by Steve Leder
Wed., August 17, 3-4:30 p.m.